About Me

I was born in Selkirk, Manitoba but grew up in Calgary. I have been married to my husband since 1987 and we have two children. Our son was born in 1995 and our daughter was born in 1997. My son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 2004.

 

I reopened my day home after a successful career in real estate. Real estate means working outside of the home most evenings and weekends which I found very difficult while raising my family and against my core values of needing to be home to support my children and husband.

 

I have enjoyed many careers in my past which is comprised of accounting, banking (both corporate and personal) and Oil & Gas Services, but it was as a day home provider when I truly felt fulfilled, happy and content. My past careers have allowed me to learn the depths of my patience, the breadth of my creativity and my genuine ability to empathize – all skills I put to use daily in my day home.

 

My previous day home was open from 2001 until 2004 and I am still in contact with the children and their families that gave me the experience with special needs such as tube feeding. I of course have experience with children with diabetes and would love to help out any families out there with unique needs!

 

I’m in the day home business to help people. I believe in helping children get all the care they need and in constantly updating my own education and training, so that I can be the best that I can be.

 

I want all of us working together to raise happy well adjusted children and I think with my willingness to learn new ideas and adjust to each child’s uniqueness is a great asset.

 

I’m interested in not just meeting the government standards of care but exceeding them! In real life it isn’t easy but it with hard work, perseverance, support from parents, grandparents and my agency it is most definitely achievable.

 

Running a day home is not an easy job but in my opinion it is the most rewarding!  If you are looking for a caring, creative, diligent professional, please consider emailing me today.

Comments